Concert Tickets Remix

Word Problem remix here.

I started by playing some Soulshine from Gov’t Mule to set the mood if you will.  From there I pretty much just showed the image below which is a screenshot from the Ticketmaster site when I went to buy the tickets.

This is not the exact image from Ticketmaster because I photoshopped out where they give the subtotal for the cost of the tickets and also where they again give the Tickets/items price because I wanted the students to have to take into consideration the order processing fee.

GovMuleTixOriginalEDIT

At this point I just let the black rectangle do it’s thing.  Student engagement was high.  I required each student to also draw a diagram of this situation that would be useful in explaining their thought process.

Then the reveal.

GovMuleTixOriginal

And lastly I give them the original textbook problem that inspired the remix:

A ticket agency sells tickets to a professional basketball game.  The agency charges $32.50 for each ticket, a convenience charge of $3.30 for each ticket, and a processing fee of $5.90 for the entire order.  The total charge for an order is $220.70.  How many tickets were purchased?

I had very high engagement in all three algebra classes even with the textbook problem.  The students felt confident with it and they wanted to figure it out.  Success!

As a side note, lead singer / guitar player Warren Haynes is one of my idols, so giving him some props in a lesson was fantastic.  A few year ago he headlined the High Sierra Music Festival and it was the greatest set I’ve ever experienced.  It’s here.  I recommend beginning with his rendition of “I’d Rather Go Blind” with Ruthie Foster (track 10)

 

One response to “Concert Tickets Remix

  1. I love this. Very simple way to bring real math into the classroom. My theory this yr is that I’m doing little math calculations in my head all day (how much will my bill be for concert tix, which coupon is better, how many miles can I drive before I run out of gas, etc). Somehow taking real life pics makes it more real and less made up for the students. Great example, thx for sharing.

Leave a Reply

